top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureNICK DUTFIELD

audiobooks – Lalala It´s The Good Life

“Anything that bugged either of us, we went back and ironed it out.” That´s a quote from audiobooks multi-instrumentalist, David Wrench, describing their new album. It´s weird though, because I´ve consulted the Synesthete Encyclopedia of Housework, and audiobooks do not sound anything like ironing. Unless you´re one of those people who does their ironing on acid and 10 coffees. Lalala It´s The Good Life isn´t exactly wrinkly, but it´s definitely wobbly and prone to lapses of evenness.


Another quote then, this time from vocalist, Evangeline Ling, “I definitely go to town with my feelings,” says Ling. “If I find I’m in a certain mindset, I’ll go as extreme as I can with it in my lyrics. I know I’m being over-dramatic.” Now, we are clearly talking about Lalala It´s The Good Life, where allegations, You Cheater, get followed by an insistent reverse, Don´t Go, Don´t Go, and party feelings get properly dug into. As for the music, it´s sounds heavily un-ironed to me, bleeps are bubbling out all over the place. Like a launderette where heavy flooding puts the urgent into detergent. Wrench´s hair makes it almost impossible to ignore Sorcerer´s Apprentice comparisons. The Disney one, where household chores get out of control.


More comparisons beckon because they´re irresistible. The extreme moodswings and frank expression of mischief´s appeal is reminiscent of Jockstrap or Wet Leg. Also, recent bloggees, The Lovely Eggs have to get a mention because they´re also a mixed company duo with a taste for quirks and photos in caffs. We might as well mention sprechgesang too, because it means talking instead of singing and audiobooks do it occasionally, making them the latest members of the sprechgesang gang, along with Self Esteem and Dry Cleaning. That´s the most comparisons I´ve ever done in a blog, expect none next week. Wonky levels rule.


THIS WEEK

audiobooks – Lalala It´s The Good Life

1,464 views since 5th August Weekly Average Views – 732


LAST WEEK

Saint Etienne – Pond House



EXTRAS

audiobooks – The Doll

audiobooks – Friends In The Bubble Bath

Jockstrap – Acid

Wet Leg – Chaise Longue

Self Esteem – I Do This All The Time

Dry Cleaning – Scratchcard Lanyard

Lovely Eggs – I, Moron

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page